snow musings

by globetrekkerloo

I’m fed up with the snow. Winter is really beautiful in the moment it happens… but that moment has been getter shorter and shorter the older I get. Because once that moment is up, its clean up, and its get to work in the slush, or its worry about the car getting slammed on hills and streets maneuvering around on the ice time. bleh.

 

But then you hear about things like this: Lost Pictures of New York Blizzard

freezes the moment (no pun intended) and tells the story behind the craziness.

 

Which brings me to something I’ve been thinking of for a while. That we’re losing the art of storytelling. But what about twitter? facebook? blogs?Hypocrite…” you mutter under your breath. Yeah, I guess this is the way of storytelling nowadays, but I miss the ones gifted with the ability to spin the words OUT LOUD.

Like this one time driving home in a snow storm, trying to escape FROM snow-storm Binghamton,  I turned on the radio to see if I could get ANYTHING on the air waves. Not really hoping for much, I did the random scan and a voice popped up, sounding a LOT like james earl jones. Mesmerized, I sat transfixed (eyes on the road and hands on the wheel of course) tickled by the story that gradually and oh so deliciously unfolded before me. Two hours went by like the road…quick. You dont get that from listening to radio nowadays. Give it a listen . –A nod to the venerable Sherlock Holmes and his creator, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

taken from amoeba.com

Blessings lovelies! Stay warm =]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PS. This might make you change your mind about snow.

PPS. This might not – Wintereinbruch

